Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

November 20, 2020

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 16-19, 2020:

<u>Court of Appeals</u> Seat 5, Chief Judge	The Honorable James E. Lockemy, Dillon, SC
Seat 6	The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Simpsonville, SC
Seat 8	The Honorable DeAndrea Gist Benjamin, Columbia, SC The Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden , Columbia, SC The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson Jr. , Florence, SC
<u>Circuit Court</u> 4 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Roger M. Young Sr., North Charleston, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	A. Lance Crick, Greenville, SC Patrick C. Fant III, Greenville, SC G. D. Morgan Jr., Greenville, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Robert Bonds, Walterboro, SC Tameaka A. Legette, Ruffin, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Carmen Tevis Mullen, Hilton Head, SC
At-Large, Seat 1	The Honorable George M. McFaddin Jr., Gable, SC
At-Large, Seat 2	The Honorable R. Kirk Griffin, Sumter, SC

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

At-Large, Seat 3	The Honorable Clifton Newman, Columbia, SC
At-Large, Seat 4	The Honorable Edward Walter "Ned" Miller , Greenville, SC
At-Large, Seat 5	The Honorable J. Mark Hayes II, Spartanburg, SC
At-Large, Seat 6	The Honorable William Henry Seals Jr., Marion, SC
At-Large, Seat 10	The Honorable Jocelyn Newman, Columbia, SC
At-Large, Seat 12	H. Steven DeBerry IV, Pamplico, SC B. Alex Hyman, Conway, SC The Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook, Goose Creek, SC
<u>Administrative Law Court</u> Seat 3	Stephanie N. Lawrence , Columbia, SC Robert L. Reibold , Columbia, SC Debra Sherman Tedeschi , Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidate qualified:

<u>Retired</u>	
Circuit Court	The Honorable Robin B. Stilwell, Greer, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission will hold hearings on Monday, November 30 and Wednesday, December 2, 2020, on the remaining judicial candidates. As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 19, 2021. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 3, 2021.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.